IT Graduate: Turning an Internship into a Dream Job

Mikael

Mikael Berg was a summer intern in 2012 at Silicon Labs. One year later, he works in the same office but this time as an IT developer. Let’s take a look how he joined our internship program and turned the opportunity into a full-time position.

November, 2011

It was two years ago when I attended a company presentation by Silicon Labs (Energy Micro at that time) at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in Trondheim, Norway. As I had already had an internship with another semiconductor company, I wanted to explore different fields in the remaining summers of my degree. So my initial intention was just to get to know the company rather than applying for an internship position. But the Silicon Labs recruiting team managed to pique my interest with their impressive technology and a clear goal of providing the world’s most energy friendly microcontrollers. After the presentation, I talked with the presenters about the working environment and internship activities. After being told that it is a good place not only to learn various skills but also to have fun with many social events, I had no hesitation in writing my application for the internship.

December, 2011

A few weeks later, I was invited to an interview by the Silicon Labs team at the campus. At the interview with the team, I immediately got a sense that these people were passionate about their work and love technology. The interview was conducted in a relaxed atmosphere and in hindsight it was almost like a first meeting with a future friend. I smiled widely when I got a call from the Silicon Labs office that I got an internship, walking home from university in the beautiful 3pm sunset of a cold December day in Trondheim.

June, 2012

After an exchange student period in Singapore, I barely had time to unpack my luggage before I found myself in the Silicon Labs lobby, greeting other summer students. We were soon assigned to different teams. I belonged to a small IT team, consisting of myself and Guro, who I by chance knew a little before, and our mentor, Magnus. During the eight week course of my internship, our team filled countless whiteboards, delivered results to impress the company and ourselves, and wrote thousands of lines of code. Our biggest contribution was to have built an anticipated internal IT tool, which had been planned for years. While working hard, we also had a lot of fun. We had sunny lunches on the roof, wore gecko costumes at the company summer party, and made good friends – all the things that you need in order to have a good summer.

Internship kick off

2012 Internship Kick-off Ceremony

Summer PartyAt the student summer party with other interns

October, 2012

A few months passed and I was invited to the office again for a two-day dual purpose visit. Day one, I presented the results of my summer project to those who would actually use it. The other day was reserved for my job interviews. I had a long talk with Magnus, discussing what I could contribute to the company and what the company could offer me. I also had a chance to talk with some other employees that I had met over the summer, and asked them what it is like to work at Silicon Labs as a full-time employee. I faced some tough questions from HR and from the General Manager of the business unit, but I managed to answer those questions based on my internship experience in the office. After all the interviews, I was called into a meeting where the general manager offered me a contract for an IT Systems Developer position. It took only a few days to decide to accept the offer and I handed in the contract to him with my signature. After my internship and a continuous relationship with my mentor, I knew that it was the place where I would like to start my career, in order to take advantage of the great learning opportunities and face new challenges.

November, 2013

I have been working for three months at Silicon Labs in Norway after submitting my Master’s thesis this summer. From day one, I have been given real projects with proper responsibilities. My experience from the internship gave me a flying start, with additional technical knowledge in terms of internal systems and routines, and of course, with the internal social network I had already established with my colleagues. I try to join as many company events as possible, such as company football games on Mondays, squash games on Thursdays, and monthly salary events. So, it’s hard to complain about missing my student life. Though I have only worked a few months so far, I was invited to my first business trip to our headquarters in Austin, Texas, where I had many meetings with overseas colleagues. Over that weekend, I had a chance to go to see my all-time favorite band, Muse, in concert, where I ran into our CEO, Tyson Tuttle. Judging by these months, applying for a summer internship at Silicon Labs was one of the best things I have done during my year in education. It makes me feel privileged to have been given the chance to start my career at Silicon Labs.

Would you like to start your career with us? Check out Silicon Labs’ internship program on our careers page here.

Watch what’s like working at Silicon Labs

Leave a Reply

